Inside Athletics

Athletic Awards Banquet 2013-14

Athletic Awards Banquet 2013-14


JOHNSTOWN – The awards for FM’s top athletic and scholar-athletic efforts of the academic year were presented recently at the annual Raiders Athletic Awards Banquet. The head coaches of each FM team presented individual awards, and 32 student-athletes were honored as members of FM’s “3.0 Club.”

The male and female Athlete of the Year awards went to women’s basketball forward Monae Abrams and to baseball shortstop Greg Ruddy. Further, Abrams was honored as an All-American, having been named to the NJCAA Division III All-American Third Team.

Photo: Athletes of the Year Monae Abrams and Greg Ruddy with Athletic Director Kevin Jones

Athletic Director Kevin Jones was also honored for his role as women’s basketball head coach. Jones was named Mountain Valley Conference Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. The Lady Raiders had a 21-5 season, won the conference championship, and finished as runners-up in the Region 3 tournament.

The academic athletes of the year were also honored. The female and male Academic Athletes of the Year are volleyball’s Emily Robinson and baseball’s Cullen Beauregard.

Photos:  Academic Athletes of the Year Emily Robinson and Cullen Beauregard with Coordinator for Student-Athlete Academic Success Christopher Rogers and Athletic Director Kevin Jones


Click here for a gallery of photos from the awards banquet.


Individual player awards:


Volleyball (Head Coach Rachael Salvione)

MVP: Caitlyn Hayward

Most improved:  Sarah Wyzomirski

Coach’s Award:  Emily Robinson


Men’s Soccer (Head Coach Donn Truax)

MVP:  Austin Lee

Most Improved:  Hassballah Yaya

Coach’s Award:  Andrew Beckham


Women’s Soccer (Presented by Donn Truax)

MVP:  Hanna Cromie

Most Improved: Maris Plank

Coach’s Award:  Cari Cestone


Men’s Basketball (Head Coach Ed Collar)

MVP:  Kadeem Stanislas

Most Improved:  Kenny Barr

Coach's Award:  Khaleeq Baum

Women’s Basketball (Head Coach Kevin Jones)

MVP:  Monae Abrams

Coach’s Award: Kassandra Flowers

Coach’s Award:  Sherice Gayle


Baseball (Head Coach Dave Hennessey)

MVP:  Greg Ruddy

Most Improved:  James Holmes

Coach's Award:  Cullen Beauregard


Softball (Head Coach Meghan Power)

Most improved:  Kathryn Oeser

Coach’s Award: Cori Manson

Coach’s Award:   Alyssa Palmateer

Conference and Regional Awards

Players receiving conference and regional awards included the following:

Monae Abrams - 1st Team All-Region III Women's Basketball
Kassandra Flowers - 1st team A-Region III Women's Basketball

Monae Abrams - Player of the Year Mountain Valley Conference and 1st team All-Conference Women's Basketball
Whitney Ostrander - 1st team All-Mountain Valley Conference Volleyball
Kassandra Flowers - 1st team All-Mountain Valley Conference Women's Basketball
Stephanie Rice - 2nd team All-Mountain Valley Conference Women's Basketball


Raiders 3.0 Club (Photo below)

The following athletes earned a 3.0 or higher grade point average: Jason Aglesta, Cullen Beauregard, Amanda Bieniek, Hannah Cromie, Joe Deso, Marquis Edwards, Sherice Gayle, Gabriella Hale, Kohei Harada, Caitlyn Hayward, Elizabeth Hayward, James Holmes, Andrew Houser, Austin Lee, Sissina Maccharelli, Kristjan Maksuti, Cori Manson, Dakota Mereness, Charlene Moreira, Allison Ostrander, Whitney Ostrander, Anthony Payne, Angelica Perez, Erica Redwood, Rebekah Reichard, Emily Robinson, Jason Roth, Greg Ruddy, Chance Steele, Alex Vickery, Carly Washburn, and Cassidy Washburn.