Cross Country Kicks Off 2017 Season

Fiore leads a runner at the end of the race

The men's and women's cross country teams opened up their 2017 season on Saturday.  They competed at the SUNY Poly short course invitational.  There were 15 total teams competing on both the men's and women's side. 

The women's race was a 4K and consisted of 104 runners.  Lyndsey Fiore was FM's only female runner and placed 97th, with a time of 26:27.  Renee Lewis of Utica College won the race with a time of 17:17.

Photo: Lyndsey Fiore pulls away from the competition and nears the finish line.

The Raiders Men's team was able to compete as a team and placed 11th overall out of 13 teams in the 6K race.  Travis Geniti led the way for FM placing 73rd out of 138 runners, with a time of 23:02.  Antonio Natole finished 97th with a time of 24:51 and Clane Newcomer had a time of 25:06.  Nick Ferrara finished at 25:11, Jacob Mosher had a time of 25:26, Jonathan Knack scored a time of 29:55 and Jay Pagayon finished his first race with a time of 43:45. 

"Our first race went really well.  We stayed in the mid pack range, which I am happy with.  Especially since it was the first race ever for a couple of them.  They now see that there is a strategy to racing; that you don't just go out there and keep the same pace the entire time.  They all see where they can improve now, and are ready to take it to the next level in practices.  I see a lot of potential for growth in this team," said Hazzard.

FM will have a few weeks to prepare for their next meet.  They will travel back to SUNY Poly on September 23rd for the Wildcat Classic.

Women's Team Results

  1. Utica College
  2. Oneonta
  3. Oswego State
  4. William Smith
  5.  Hartwick
  6. Elms College
  7. SUNY Poly
  8. Elmira College
  9. Morrisville State
  10. Herkimer College
  11. Davis College 

Men's Team Results

  1. Oneonta
  2. Oswego State
  3. Utica College
  4. SUNY Poly
  5. Hobart
  6. Herkimer College
  7. Hartwick
  8. Elmira College
  9. Paul Smith's
  10. Broome CC
  11. Fulton Montgomery
  12. Morrisville State
  13. Elms College